Welcome to “DISCOVER RUSTICO” in the former St. Augustine’s Credit Union building. This new welcome centre is a branch of the Farmers Bank of Rustico & Doucet House Museums, (located 1km up the road on Rte.243, beside St. Augustine’s Parish Church.)
Here we have an information centre and satellite museum promoting the rich Acadian heritage of our area and the other five Acadian regions on the Island and small gift shop of local goods and products.
St. Augustine’s Credit Union was chartered in 1938 and operated until 1996. Through the 20th-century there were 72 community-based credit unions across the Island. This building was originally a small country store. After the Credit Union took over this building for a brief time in the mid 1940’s Amos Gallant’s store operated from here while his new store was rebuilt following a fire. Also, the Cymbria Lions Club held their meetings in the basement.